North Kildare Cricket Club Men's 1st XI v Railway Union 2 on Sat 08 Jun 2013 at 13:00
North Kildare Cricket Club Won By 8 Wkts (24/25pts)

Match report The 1sts made it 4 wins out of 4 in Division 4 on Saturday when they overcame the challenge of visitors Railway Union by 8 wickets. After losing the toss NK were asked to field and Imran Muhammed wasted no time getting the breakthrough when he had the oppo no.2 miscue one to point in just the 2nd over. Railway then enjoyed a 2nd wicket stand worth 69 before Gulab Singh finally removed the no.3 lbw. Gulab not long after had the Railway top scorer and captain Grehan caught at mid-on by Ul-Haq. After these two important wickets, Shiv Sethi proceeded to run through the visitors middle order, taking 4 wickets and earning the MOM award for an excellent spell of bowling. Manny Singh was then on hand to finish things off when he bagged himself a pair of tailender scalps and Railway Union had been rolled over for a paltry looking total of 151. Job one done and done well, with a mention going to Walshy for a brace of sharp slip catches and a mention going to Safdar Hussain for a direct hit run out.

After Neavyn and Imran Muhammed put on 60 runs in the first 10 overs it appeared that only one result was possible, a Kildare victory. A Kildare victory is exactly what followed, and quickly, thanks to the Imrans. After Neavyn was dismissed to a less than spectacular delivery and Manny Singh surprised everyone when he followed soon after for just the one, the Imrans came together and decided to make the game a Twenty20. So could the Imrans chase down 152 in 20 overs? Imran Muhammed continued as he started, playing his shots and regularly finding the boundary on his way to his maiden 50 for the 1sts and Imran Ul-Haq took apart the helpless Railway bowlers in a rapid 42 from just 20 balls, an innings which included a mighty 6 that almost cleared the trees. In the end the Imrans got Kildare home but only just, in 19.5 overs with a single ball to spare. In reality of course the 1sts galloped to the win with 181 balls to spare and remain atop Division 4.

Railway Union 2 Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
13w 2b 5lb 
for 10 wickets
151 (31.0 overs)
S. Grehan ct  I. Ul-Haq bowled Gulab Singh 42 69 52 9 80.77
C. Rendall ct  Manjeet Singh bowled I. Muhammed 1 7 4 25.00
F. Ul-Haq lbw  bowled Gulab Singh 32 50 36 6 88.89
Z. Niaz ct  I. Walshe bowled S. Sethi 0 3 5 0
A. Nazir run out  S. Hussain 18 58 33 2 54.55
B. Kumar lbw  bowled S. Sethi 14 37 30 2 46.67
M. Imran ct  I. Muhammed bowled S. Sethi 19 22 15 2 1 126.67
I. Khurshid b  S. Sethi 0 1 1 0
K. Toorie lbw  bowled Manjeet Singh 4 8 4 1 100
C. Kenny ct  I. Walshe bowled Manjeet Singh 0 7 3 0
A. Saeed Not Out  1 2 1 100

North Kildare Cricket Club Men's 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Tom Satchwell5.002900.005.80
Imran Muhammad5.0024124.004.80
Gulab Singh7.0037218.505.29
Shiv Sethi10.023047.503.00
Manjeet Singh4.0024212.006.00

North Kildare Cricket Club Men's 1st XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
1nb 15w 1b 1lb 
for 2 wickets

(19.5 overs)
Robert Neavyn ct  I. Khurshid bowled F. Ul-Haq 28 38 42 4 66.67
Imran Muhammad Not Out  63 87 51 10 123.53 1
Manjeet Singh ct  C. Kenny bowled K. Toorie 1 9 8 12.50 1
Imran ul-Haq Not Out  42 28 20 5 3 210.0 1
Ian Walshe   2
Sean Dalton  
Tom Satchwell  
Neil Vorster  
Shiv Sethi  
Gulab Singh  
Safdar Hussain   1

Railway Union 2 Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
A. Saeed5.003200.006.40
I. Khurshid3.001900.006.33
M. Imran4.003100.007.75
F. Ul-Haq4.0035135.008.75
K. Toorie3.5033133.008.61

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :
    Naomi Scott-Hayward